I wanted 2012 to be a year I gave more.  I have always supported environmental causes / organizations, but this was a year I wanted to step out of my comfort zone and give in areas that have always tugged at my heart in a different way.  My first chance was just a couple days ago, when I was able to volunteer with CAST LA (Coalition Against Slavery & Trafficking http://www.castla.org/ ).  My beautiful friend, Brooke, has always been involved in these efforts in one way or another, and I was so blessed by her reaching out and asking if I’d like to volunteer.  The undisclosed location of where to meet was my first reminder of the serious fight and issues that CAST LA and other organizations like it face.  Right away I felt myself getting defensive.  These victims desperately need our help.

Another group that had made great strides in the fight against trafficking is People for Children, http://rickymartinfoundation.org/peopleforchildren.html started by Ricky Martin in 2004.  I have always admired the time and attention he gives to this global fight.

There are many reasons why I feel this cause is so important, but I can only imagine… when the depth of a soul cries out to be saved…  So my freedom, is also, my responsibility.

My other heart tug are children with special needs.  Time will tell where it takes me….but I already have a few ideas in mind.

“You is kind. You is smart. You is important.” ~ Kathryn StockettThe Help

